Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
henryfrank_gw

Help with Vintage Singer T&S 648 Bobbin

henryfrank
9 years ago

Hello all,

I am completely new to sewing and got a used Singer Model 648 Special Zig Zag without realizing they are quite finicky. I am trying to thread the bobbin (get it to sew) and can't figure out what I am doing wrong. I can't find any help online and am getting so frustrated :(. Somebody please help me figure this out. The person I bought it from said it needs a bit of tension work, but I can't figure out how to even do that.

Here is a video of me trying to thread the bobbin and start sewing: https://vimeo.com/101245734

Here is the manual for the model: http://www.singerco.com/uploads/download/a6172931362178d23f294bac5f8cd24f48798c80.pdf

Thank you all so much!

Comments (5)

• kathi_mdgd
    9 years ago

Your first link didn't work!! The second one it looks like a machine i had back in the early 60's,think mine was a #549.I can't remember if that machine has the bobbin that you thread in place,or if you take it out and place it somewhere on the machine to thread it.Let me go take a look at that manual you posted and see if i can help you figure it out.Hang in there for a few!!

OK open your manual and go to page 7,read it and study the diagram.Make sure needle is in highest position.Open bobbin area,push that little lever to the left,and follow the directions exactly how they are written,and you should be able to do it.

Let me know how it goes.HTH
    Kathi

• ci_lantro
    9 years ago

I am trying to thread the bobbin (get it to sew)...

I'm assuming that you have the bobbin wound with thread and need to know how to start sewing--how to get the end of the bobbin thread up thru the thread plate. Those instructions are on page 22 of the manual.

• henryfrank
    Original Author
    9 years ago