Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When you have project instructions but no pattern

Posted by lizstanton08 (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 13, 08 at 18:01

I am new at sewing and am currently reading the book "100 Ways to Use Your First Sewing Machine." My friend and I attempted to make the tote bag in the book - however, there was no pattern for the bag, only instructions (i.e. cut four panels of 15 x 17 fabric). The tote is not yet finished, but it's not exactly coming along as planned - I think that the cut is off.

How do you make a project for which you don't have a pattern?

I measured the 15 x 17 on the fabric, cut it to create the first panel, and then pinned it to the fabric as a template to create the other three panels. However, I don't think that this was the best method, since the pieces are not all the same size and the cut was shaky.

Any suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When you have project instructions but no pattern

Are your scissors sharp enough for fabric.
Have you prewashed the fabric?
Try spray starching if you have will make it more stable to cut.
Are you using tissue paper for pattern does it need pressed on wool setting, make sure it is straight.

Can you some how straighten the fabric and make it slightly smaller to save the fabric?

o