Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lmeenan

How much to charge for Bridesmaid dresses

lmeenan
13 years ago

I am a senior in college right now, and I am studying fashion and costume design with an emphasis on sewing. I was recently asked to sew 6 bridesmaid dresses fro a woman I don't know- through a mutual friend. I asked for the pattern number sine she had the pattern and fabric already bought. It is an easy patter. 6 pieces, a relatively simply strapless one- simplicity 5561- for anyone who would like to look, but I am not sure what to charge. i was read a thread here about charging for pants and tehre was a lot of discrepancy. I know I am not a professional, so I can't charge too much , but I would like it to be fair to this bride who wants it to be cheaper than purchasing them and fair to me who has to make them... thank you!

Liz

Comments (10)

• kathi_mdgd
    13 years ago

There are several things to consider before you commit to this~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Having done this kind of sewing in the past,i'm here to tell you the pattern may be simple,but your clients may not be.First of all the clients will all be different sizes and some will think they are smaller than they really are,for instance they'll say i'm a 14,when in reality they are really an 18,trying to squeeze into a 14.

Then there are all the fittings,and adjustments,and what kind of fabric will they be using,and did they get enough of it!!

Of course there is the time issue as well,will this be a hurry up sort of thing,or is the wedding down the road a ways??

I did look at the pattern and it does look quite simple,but being very fitted it is going to have it's own set of problems,unless all the girls are like twiggy!!

I'm not trying to discourage you,just want you to be aware and informed before you get into something that may not be beneficial to you in the end.

Oh and then there are those people that will think you should do it for 15 to 20 dollars a dress~~~~~NOT.