Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurelzito

fabric cutting table for 60 inch width fabrics

Laurel Zito
9 years ago

I have been looking for a fabric cutting table to use instead of the floor which was recommended by all sewing teachers, but all the tables I am seeing are no more then 24 inches wide. What about cutting out with a lay out of single fabric? Some fabric is 60 inches wide. It would seem to me that width is more important then a long length. You can always cut out part of the lay out, then move the fabric up again. I used to have a fabric cutting table, so I have some experience with how to use them. I would think quilters would like a big wide table for making large quilts. I have a king bed for example or one of the large art quilts to hang on a wall. Can someone suggest a brand or type of table that is at least wider then 24 inches. I know can not get 60 inches, but at least 30 inches. And when they post in cm I get confused by that.

Comments (22)

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

My dining room table ... 30x70

Or get a sheet of plywood (48 x 96) and two sawhorses.

• Laurel Zito
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Right after posting I found this:
    Correll Folding Table white 30 by 72 for restaurants
    it plastic and got good reviews
    could be wider in my opinion, that would be better, but 30 seems to max it out.

• talley_sue_nyc
    9 years ago

My mom bought a sheet of masonite to lay on the dining-room table and slid it behind the piano when it was not in use.

It sagged slightly where it stuck off the edges of the table, but it was firm enough. And it was lighter than most plywoods, and had a smooth, no-snag surface.

I use the Dritz/Prym Superboard folding cutting board and lay it on my DR table.

It's 40x72 inches.

Here is a link that might be useful: Prym-Dritz Superboard

• talley_sue_nyc
    9 years ago

Here's another brand of folding cutting board--it's 36x54, so smaller, but still wide enough for 60" fabric folded in half.