Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
decorgirl_06

SINGER Prelude8280... at Wallmart

decorgirl-06
16 years ago

Hi!!

I am new to sewing.

Does anyone knows something about this sewing machine??

I bought it at Wallmart yesterday for 99.99 to start with small proyects. After I saw the DVD for the instructions I try to use it and sometimes does not work vey well.

Sometimes the handwheel is hard to move back and forward.

When I press the foot speed control it make noise or sound and it does not move.

Any ideas???

Thanks in advance

Comments (6)

• colleenny
    16 years ago

I would not buy a Singer sewing machine. You are better off buying an old used machine than the new ones. Singer machines have gone downhill. Take it back and demand a refund. Try to go to a store that sells machine and try them out. If you can only afford a small amount, ask if they have anything used that they can sell you. Colleen

• decorgirl-06
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks very much colleenny.

• loganhogan
    16 years ago

I agree with Colleenny, the current singer machines do not have the quality of the ones of yesterday.
    Susan

• susie53_gw
    16 years ago

I agree 100%. My hubby bought me a new sewing machine many years ago at Sears. When I took it in to have it cleaned and checked out, the guy told me to not let this machine go. It said it is one of the better ones out because all the newer ones have so much plastic in them. I have found this to be so true. We bough our oldest daughter a used machione from a friend when she got out of college. paid $50.00 for it. She still is using it some 15 years later. our other daughter found one at a garage sale for $5.00 and it works great. The man told me to always pick up the msachine. it is the really heavy ones that are the good ones.