Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haloheaven

is a sew and serge machine good for beginner?

haloheaven
18 years ago

HI! I'm a beginner, (read absolutely clueless about sewing),but plan on doing a major upholstery/slipcover project for our house, and want to learn to sew clothes/purses/embroidery,etc. in the future.

and tomorrow(7/12/05), there's a one-day only factory sale of Necchi Educational Model Sew and Serge Sewing Machines for $199, I guess they're usually $529.

the ad lists alot of it's functions, which seem great, but i have no idea if this is a good deal or not, or if I pass it up, will I end up paying more for a machine that does less?

What should a good machine be able to do? It says it has a professional 2-in-1 serging stitch. What does that mean?

It also has a 25 year warranty;is this good?

Thanks guys ! :)

Comments (19)

• dayenu
    18 years ago

it means it has a presser foot with a large clunky side cutter, not really a serger at all. Save your money.

beginners especially need good machines because everything is new and they need to be able to make sure the machine is doing the best it can do while they are struggling with general technique. Having a poor machine can really be discouraging.

• msmeow
    18 years ago

My mom bought a Necchi machine at one of those sales several years ago, and she gave up trying to use it after a couple of tries and put it back in the box. She has been sewing forever, so she knows how to use a machine. I'm not sure what the problem was with the Necchi machine, but you CANNOT return it.

I have an upper model Brother machine that has that foot (theirs is called a side cutter foot). It took me forever to figure out how to make it work; then the one skirt I sewed using it had the seams fray and come apart after only a few washings.