Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phyllida_gw

Need help to re-do drapery and valance

Phyllida
9 years ago

I had a large project done, drape and valance. Unfortunately, the job was done very poorly.
The seamstress has agreed to come back, and I would like some help in telling her what needs to be done to repair the puffy valance and shirred seams.
I will be very grateful for any help provided.

Comments (27)

• Laurie
    9 years ago

It's good that the seamstress agreed to come back. I am no expert. Here are my thoughts...

About the drapes:
    It looks like the tension on the sewing machine was not right causing puckering along the seams. Are these drapes lined?
    Also, did they cut away the selvage before sewing? I've heard that (not cutting away the selvage) can cause some puckering when sewing.
    Did they insert drapery weights in to the bottom hem (at each corner & sometimes also at the bottom where each seam is )?

Maybe, a good pressing is all that's needed.

Not sure about the valance. Again, maybe pressing will help with that puffiness?

Please post back. I hope things work out.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    9 years ago

Hard to tell from the picture. It may be the tension, or it may be that she stretched the fabric when she sewed it, or it may be that the fabric is very sheer and slippery and needs a stabilizer to hold it while it's sewed. Or it may be fixable with a good pressing.

Can't see the valance so don't know what needs to be done there....

• Phyllida
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi Annie,

Thanks for your responses. Here is the valance - to me it looks lumpy and unprofessional.

There's also a problem with the hem - I'm sending that in another post because I can't seem to manage to upload 2 photos in one post.

The fabric is a rather firm drapery fabric, 100% polyester, Kravet 32224.

Will be grateful for all advice!

Best,

Phyllida

• Phyllida
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Any advice gratefully accepted!

• evaf555