Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiffanyjs_gw

bobbin thread tangling

tiffanyjs
14 years ago

i have a kenmore 158 and when i sew the bobbin thread tangles. please help me to figure out the problem. thank you.

Comments (6)

• jclepine
    14 years ago

I warn you, I'm pretty new to sewing still but these are the things I can think of.

Make sure you are using the right sized (class) bobbin. And, if it is the right class but came from a big chain store, it could be a dash too small. I bought some and wound up throwing them out. Try buying some from a smaller shop like a sewing machine sales shop. You'll know it is too small if it wiggles a lot while sewing.

Try using two differently coloured threads on a scrap-swatch of the fabric you are sewing with. Dark for the bobbin thread, light for the top thread, or what have you. then, look closely and see if the bottom thread shows up on the top or vice versa. Then, check your manual and adjust the tension accordingly. My manual has good pictures of just how it should look.

You can also just adjust the tension up or down until the problem corrects but I think this is harder to do and takes longer.

It can be a good idea to make sure that the thread is threaded properly and, even if it looks like it is, it never hurts to re-thread. Take it out and put it back in, making sure you don't skip anything.

Another idea is to make sure your needle is fresh. If you haven't changed needles since your last project, go ahead and change now or look under a magnifier and hold the needle to a flat surface to make sure it is straight. I never see anything this way so I just change often-ish.

The needle might not be in all the way. Loosen the screw and push up to make sure it is in, then tighten.

The last thing I can think of is that the needle could be the wrong size for the fabric. Double check the needle size and change if needed.

I hope that helps!!

J.

• soonergrandmom
    14 years ago