Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maggie4_gw

serger info please

Maggie4
15 years ago

I'm thinking of buying a serger. What brand and model do you have. What don't you like about it? What do you like and use it for and are they hard to learn to use? I have been sewing for over 40 yrs. I don't need a complicated one thinking of four thread one. Some have six but I think that might be intimidating.

Thanks

Comments (7)

• teresa_nc7
    15 years ago

I have a Brother 4-thread serger that continues to be easy to use, trouble free. Often a new serger will come to you already threaded and you have only to tie on thread from new cones. Yes....that is nice 'cause threading sergers are not always too easy. But, you should learn to thread your serger from start to finish and practice doing it successfully several times.

If you can take some serger lessons at a local machine/quilt/fabric store you will feel more at ease with the machine and learn some of the many things possible with a serger. One of these days I hope to find a place nearby to take lessons - or get a good book.

I use my machine for overcast finishing tablecloths and napkins, sewing up pillowcases to sell, and finishing off the seams of my fashion sewing projects.

You don't have to spend tons of money to get a good serger. Mine was $250 online with free shipping and my first project paid for the machine.

• kathi_mdgd
    15 years ago

I have the brother 3034D,just got this one a couple months ago.Before this one i had a white 534D for 25 years.Both are/have been great machines.I do a lot of sewing for the GK's and myself and also home dec stuff.I use mine for practically everything i sew,except quilts.I paid 400.00 for my new Brother at the dealers,i also get free lessons if i need or want them.
    Kathi

• smutchl
    15 years ago