Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sewing machine jams when I use thicker threads

Posted by dee_can (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 29, 13 at 9:58

Hi,

This is my second time trying to use a thicker thread for hemming jeans, and the thread jams instantly on the first stitch. I have a Kenmore; it's a pretty good machine. I'm self-taught, so wondering if I'm not doing something right.

I'd like to use the thicker thread because it matches the thread in my jeans. It's Gutermann thread, so I think a high quality thread. Any ideas, or should I just chalk (chock?) it up to my machine not being able to handle anything other than standard thread?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sewing machine jams when I use thicker threads II

Hmm, I found out what the problem was - it was the operator. I threaded the machine incorrectly. Both times, I guess. *blush* If I could have deleted my original post I would have. Thanks for reading. ; )

o
RE: Sewing machine jams when I use thicker threads

Don't feel bad. I've heard/read that when there is a jamming, tension, or thread breaking problem, 90 percent of the time the cure is to rethread the machine. Yet it is nearly always the last thing I think of to try. Me, thread my own machine incorrectly? Well, it happens.

o

Yup like Donna says,it happens to all of us at one time or another!!

Hi Donna,how's life treating you?? Doing good here,busy in the gardens this time of year.
Kathi

o

Thanks Donna and Kathi. There are times I don't sew for awhile, and I really have to remind myself how to set up the machine. Does the bobbin go this way or that way, etc. Hard to believe I threaded the machine incorrectly with the same type of thread twice in a row on separate occasions. : D

I'll keep that in mind about what you said about 90% of the time the cure is to rethread the machine, Donna. Thanks.

o

Some home machines, especially with that thick thread do not do as well.

I have 2 suggestions.