Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
question about a Kenmore sewing machine

Posted by dian57 (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 8, 09 at 7:06

I just purchased a few items from Creative Feet. I need to get my needle in the far left position and then sew straight. I can get it left for the blind stitch, but it makes a quick right every few stitches.

I've read the manual to no avail and played with all the adjustments without success also.

Any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: question about a Kenmore sewing machine

If i understand you correctly,then what it's doing is correct.It takes a few stitches then swings to the other side to pick up the blind stitch.Your straight stitches should be on the straight piece of fabric,then it swings over and picks up a stitch on the fold.Clear as mud,right?? I'm not very good at explaining things.But look at the pictures in your manual,and you should understand.HTH
Kathi

o

Ah now I understand thanks to Kathi -- it does seem like that is what your foot should be doing. As Kathi says check your manual for pictures....if you still don't think it is correct, look for a book at the library that shows you what blind hemming looks like. Just a suggestion. Budster

o

Yes, what's it doing is correct for a blind stitch. I need the machine to move the needle to the left and stay there. Then be able to stitch straight from that position.

Alas, I just got off the phone with Claire from Creative Feet. My machine doesn't have the needle position option. She did, however, give me a neat way around this problem--buy a double needle and cut the right needle off. This will give me a sewing needle in just the right position to attach the Satinedge foot to my machine and give me a quilting 1/4" seam.

What a creative mind to figure that one out!

Thanks, everyone. Time to get a double needle.

Dianne

o