Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yazyappa

Help- singer 7422 machine

yazyappa
16 years ago

I am just learning how to use my machine (singer model 7422) so I am not sure what to do here. I was in the middle of stitching and my machine just stopped working- it started beeping and all the lights on the front started blinking and nothing will work now. I shut it off for an hour and turned it back on and it keeps doing the same thing. I tried pulling the bobbin case out and cleaning the lint but it is still blinking and beeping. Can anyone help me?

Comments (7)

• colleenny
    16 years ago

Where did you buy it? Does it have a warantee? I would call up the singer company and see what they have to say. Maybe they can help you find the problem. Hate to repeat what has been said before but Singer does not make high quality machines anymore. Colleen

• yazyappa
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the advice. Was wondering if something like this has happened to anyone else. I bought it at Wal-Mart. Looks like I'm going to save up money for a good machine. What do you personally recommend?

• Woodsy
    16 years ago

My Brother machine has done this. The problem with mine was that the needle was in the wrong position. My needle can be shifted to the left or right. Until I shifted the needle to the correct position for the pressure foot I had on, it did what yours did. Maybe give that a try. Also, in the back of the book that came with your machine, there is a listing under "Troubleshooting"...check this and see if any of the problems listed is the same as yours...it should tell you what to do to fix the problem.
    Woodsy

• colleenny
    16 years ago

You really need to go somewhere that sells machines and try them out. Sometimes if you can only afford something used that is the way to go. I bought my Viking used and love the machine. I also have a couple of very old singers. Colleen

• espinoza1806_gmail_com
    12 years ago