Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
artesian79

Novice Needs Help Making Bedskirt

artesian79
15 years ago

I have a kingsize bed with a headboard and footboard. I bought a new comforter, but it didn't come with bedskirt and I haven't found a pre-made one that matches in color. I have found some 45" fabric that I would like to use to make a bedskirt.

I've googled for hours and can't find instructions to make a pleated bedskirt for use with a footboard. I understand how to make the pleats along the sides and one in the middle of the bottom/foot. I do not understand how to make the pleats at the corner and how to make a cut so that the footboard can be accommodated w/o showing through. Since I'll need to hem both sides of the cut I'd think I would need extra fabric but I'm at a loss as to know how to add it and even where to cut. (I'm not good at visualizing in 3D.)

I would like to have the "pretty fabric" go under the mattress a short way so that the white fabric doesn't show as they always seems a way to. I'd be happy too to attach the skirt to a fitted sheet or use Velcro if that helps.

Since the fabric is not the heavy home décor fabric, do I need to line it?

The closest instructions I've found are at: http://sewing.about.com/library/weekly/aa022699.htm.

Can someone clear the muddy waters for me?

Comments (12)

• hapyfrustrated
    15 years ago

Dear Artesan, I wish I knew how to explain this. I also am ready to tackle the same issue. Though I do not want to sew my bedskirt to a sheet, I just want to attach velcro to the mattress and attach the skirt there. I am hoping that will keep the bedskirt from sliding around and looking messy.

I am also looking for a way to make pillow shams out of the matching fabric. I have no idea how to go about this. I will be making my own post so not to disturb yours. I hope someone comes along with the idea soon. Good Luck!

• murphy_zone7
    15 years ago