Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clergychick

shopping for a new (to me) machine

clergychick
14 years ago

I have been using a Kenmore 24 Stitch machine since I bought it in 1988 to make my wedding dress. It is having all kinds of problems now, the most aggravating of which is that the bobbin cover will not stay in place, but the tension is needing work, too.

I haven't had time to take it to the shop, so I borrowed a friend's machine. It is a Husqvarna Lily 530 (1997). After some initial getting-started challenges, it is doing fine for me. The friend said she would be willing to sell it to me if I wanted it -- she never used it as much as she thought she would. I do a lot of applique/satin stitching, and I found the digital controls of stitch width do no allow me to do some of the decorative stuff I could do on my old machine, so I'm not totally sold on it.

Then the ad below showed up in yesterday's paper for Singer Heavy Duty School Model Sew & Serge machines for $129 (or Teacher's model for $229 and $299). It's a "one day only" sale -- but if it is a good machine, I might go for it.

I have been impressed with the breadth and scope of your knowledge about machines, so I'd appreciate any advice you have on either of these options.

Thanks for your time. Amy

{{!gwi}}

Comments (10)

• nicole__
    14 years ago

These sound like old mechanical machines. They don't sew as smooth as the new electronic ones.The older machines would have more "metal" in them. I wouldn't expect a warranty, it's a fly by night operation.

I opted to buy a Brother machine from Walmart. At least Walmart will be there in a year. I paid $135, it's electronic, it has about 40 built in stitches & a self threader. But......I may have broken part of the bobbin compartment.....had it a year and now it needs to be repaired. I talked to a repairman who said he refuses to work on this type of machine. :0)

• mary_c_gw
    14 years ago