Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bcurrey_gw

Help - gift for my wife

bcurrey
15 years ago

Hello. I'm going to surprise my wife with the SE-270D Brother embroidery/sewing machine. It's the one with the Disney stuff on it.

I have ZERO knowledge of sewing machines and have spent the last hour trying to read up on them, and haven't really gotten anywhere.

I know with the 270D you can download and transfer additional designs and fonts. Do I have to buy the PED basic or the Amazing Box in order to get them from the computer to the SM? Does the sewing machine have a USB port and if it does, can I just transfer them with a flash drive? If a flash drive isn't an option, which converter/reader should I get. She isn't going to get into designing patterns, so I'd just like something basic.

Appreciate your help and for saving me a lot of time and frustration!!! :)

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• loganhogan
    15 years ago

If she doesn't have some type of editing software like PE design, Embird, etc she won't be able edit designs, type names etc on the computer she'll have to do it on the machine which is a pain.

What is the largest hoop this machine comes with? 4X4 or 5X7? Has your wife expressed interest in this particular machine? The reason I ask is, you are very limited in what you can do with a 4X4 field. I applaud you for wanting to get your wife a machine. Maybe you can give her a "gift certificate" of sorts and let her go to a dealer and try out some machines. Not trying to rain on your parade, but my husband doesn't want me picking out his new saw/drill, etc and I don't want him picking out my sewing machine.

I bought a top of the line used machine 3 years ago for the same amt of money that a new cheaper model would have been. I've never regretted buying the used machine. It does so much more that a "new" one in my price range would have done.

Good Luck,
    Susan

• loganhogan
    15 years ago