Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brendainnj_gw

Would this work for 'closet curtains'

brendainnj
14 years ago

Hi, newbie here...I've done very little sewing but did manage to make many of the curtains in my last house with a friend's guidance. Now, we've moved again and have 2 (5') closets in my bedroom with sliding doors that I'd like to replace with curtains. Now here is my simple idea: Get 2 matching queen flat sheets, cut each in half. Sew up the sides, hem the bottom & put buttonholes in the top so I can use a tension rod with shower hooks to enable them to slide easily. Of course first I have to locate a good used machine which does buttonholes(!) but I'm just trying to see if this is do-able. Is there anything I should be careful of? Should I space the buttonholes just like on a shower curtain or closer so there's more gather?

Thanks ladies for any help you can give!

Comments (10)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

Hi brendainnj:

I have a couple of suggestions. I wouldn't cut them in half. They will always be gaping in the center. Put them right across and then you can access the closet from either end instead of the middle.

I would mount a rod above the closet. Tension rods have a tendancy to slip, especially when the curtains are constantly being moved. They have nice wooden rods with wooden rings and clips that you can clip onto a straight piece of material. Another option is large grommets on the top of the curtains. Both would move easily on the rod.

Since these curtains would hang straight you could use double bed sheets, but get a good quality so they have some body to them. I would also suggest you sew in some curtain weights in the hem. They will help with them hanging straight. If the sheets have a selvedge edge then cut off the selvedge and hem the sides or you'll end up with a wonky hem.

A queen sheet is 90x102 and a double is 81x96

• brendainnj
    Original Author
    14 years ago