Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
debbimc

beginning projects

debbimc
15 years ago

I am a beginner & would like to decorating projects--I want to d a simple valance , maybe some pillows--reasonable? should I get patterns? there are some fairly easy looking valances BUT some are lined to make them hang well--is lining sooo bad?

Comments (12)

• bonnie-w
    15 years ago

Hi: If your valance can be seen from the street you should line them. Its always better to see the lining rather than the print of the valance plus it helps prevent the fabric from fading. If you feel more comfortable using a pattern start out with a simple one. There are lots of simple patterns for pillows as well, so go for it. You will be surprised how easy it is and how creative you can be.

Bonnie

• budster
    15 years ago

I would also suggest that you look in your local library for some sewing books that have projects you are interested in. There is so much information out there it is always good to prepare yourself. Patterns are a good way to go if you are a beginner, but if you have an experienced sewing buddy that will help that is another way to approach it.

• bayareafrancy
    15 years ago

A simple valance doesn't sound to hard to my very-much-a-beginner brain. As long as it has a straight bottom, and a basic rod pocket. For me, something like a scalloped bottom would be frustrating, and tab tops would have me running through the house, throwing spools of thread at everyone.