Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help!Thread keeps bunching up under the plate?

Posted by rebecca15 (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 25, 08 at 16:56

I am new to sewing. I am having a problem with the thread gathering up under the plate resulting in the machine locking up. I am having to remove the plate to retrieve the thread. Is it a tension problem? Bobbin Problem? What is the point of the bobbin thread? Thanks for the help!

Becky

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help!Thread keeps bunching up under the plate?

Make sure your bobbin is threaded properly along with the top thread. It would help to know which machine you have. Mine has only one way to put the bobbin in so it will work okay, but I have had the thread miss the take up lever and it acted the same way (top thread). Keep trying. Did your machine come with a video or a manual? Consult the machine company and maybe they will help.

o

Is it bunching as you first start sewing a seam? Try hold the bobbin thread and the top thread lightly when you first start your seam.

o

You ask "What is the point of the bobbin thread?" If you look at how the stitch is made, you'll see that the bobbin and top thread are interconnected, without a bobbin thread, you don't have a stitch. Check out the link below to see how a machine makes the stitch. It's pretty cool.

Are you bringing the bobbin thread to the surface before trying to sew? To do this, manually turn the wheel on the end of the machine so that the needle drops down into the bobbin race, while holding onto the tail of top thread. Bring the needle back up so that it's as high as it will go. Now pull on the tail of the top thread and it should bring up a loop of the bobbin thread. Pull up the loop so that the tail of the bobbin thread is up. As Marion said, you need to hold onto these tails when you start your seam, or the bobbin thread will get pulled down into the bobbin again and cause the snarling that you are having.

Annie