Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rebecca15_gw

Help!Thread keeps bunching up under the plate?

rebecca15
16 years ago

I am new to sewing. I am having a problem with the thread gathering up under the plate resulting in the machine locking up. I am having to remove the plate to retrieve the thread. Is it a tension problem? Bobbin Problem? What is the point of the bobbin thread? Thanks for the help!

Becky

Comments (23)

• msmarion
    16 years ago

Is it bunching as you first start sewing a seam? Try hold the bobbin thread and the top thread lightly when you first start your seam.

• damascusannie
    16 years ago

You ask "What is the point of the bobbin thread?" If you look at how the stitch is made, you'll see that the bobbin and top thread are interconnected, without a bobbin thread, you don't have a stitch. Check out the link below to see how a machine makes the stitch. It's pretty cool.

Are you bringing the bobbin thread to the surface before trying to sew? To do this, manually turn the wheel on the end of the machine so that the needle drops down into the bobbin race, while holding onto the tail of top thread. Bring the needle back up so that it's as high as it will go. Now pull on the tail of the top thread and it should bring up a loop of the bobbin thread. Pull up the loop so that the tail of the bobbin thread is up. As Marion said, you need to hold onto these tails when you start your seam, or the bobbin thread will get pulled down into the bobbin again and cause the snarling that you are having.

Annie

Here is a link that might be useful: Sewing machine stitch

• paonder
    16 years ago

When I have the thread bunching underneath, it is usually the upper tension that needs tweaking. Also, be sure that your needle is the right size and nice and sharp. A dull needle can really gum up the works. Good luck. If all these suggestions don't work, be sure to post back.

• nanciii
    16 years ago