Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
itzthor

Custom Pattern

itzthor
15 years ago

I am new to sewing. In fact I've only done one project and that was done from the top of my head with no pattern. It was a two piece, oval dog bed. Not the prettiest thing but the dog likes it and the wife says it looks good (she says I'm a good cook though so I can't trust her opinion).

Anyways, I am disabled from a car accident and sometime I have to sleep sitting up. Doing this for over a year while fighting with pillows has forced me to come up with a design for a custom pillow. This is where my problem comes in. I have no clue how to make a pattern and there are no pillow designs out there that even come close to what I need. I've looked at several pieces of pattern creating software, but they are all just for clothing. So my question is: Does anyone know of any software that will help me create this thing. I'm not opposed to having a person design a pattern for me, but, I am nervous about it since I may end up marketing it and cannot patent it until I have a actual pattern.

Comments (4)

• debs3
    15 years ago

Hello itzthor, sounds like you have a great thing to offer and would be the perfect person to design it.

I have some quesions for you. Is it possible for you to do the design on paper versus a computer program? Do you have several different pillow patterns you want to create? Will the pillow(s) come in custom sizes?

I have included a link to Threads Magazine where they have links to three different companies offering pattern drafting software. You have probably already looked at these, but each of these offer a program specifically for accessories and maybe your pillow(s) would fit into this type of program.

If you were to contact them they may be able to tell you if their program would work for your pillow(s).