Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blessedbe_gw

Newbie looking for advice

blessedbe
11 years ago

Hi there! I am a sewing newbie and very excited to get started. I have purchased a Janome HD1000 sewing machine, and a sewing table with a recessed area to sit the machine down in. I know I need to purchase plastic drawer units to hold fabric and items, a couple of thread spool holders, an overhead light for my work area and an ironing board with a good topper.

Are there any other essential items I need to have? I will mostly be working on home decor and eventually clothing hopefully. I have a grid cutting board, rotary cutter, some dressmakers chalk, a seam ripper and that's about it.

Thanks everyone!
Kelle

Comments (7)

• Annie Deighnaugh
    11 years ago

Tape measure
    Sewing gauge
    Good scissors with a bent handle that are used just for cutting fabric.
    Small scissor for trimming...preferably with one tip pointed and one tip rounded.

• jaceysgranny
    11 years ago

Measuring tape
    different sized sewing machine needles
    Straight pins
    Pin cushion
    At least one good ruler for your cutting mat to provide your straight line for cutting. These are on the same aisle as the mat normally

Enjoy! Nancy

• Liddybuff
    10 years ago

Hi Blessedbe, I am so glad you are joining this great past-time. The one most important thing I found about sewing is to have an area where you do not feel as though you are in anyone's way. I enjoy a private setting where I can relax and create as I see fit. I now have space where I don't have to put everything away each time I work but I do try to stay as neat as possible. Everything has a place and things are easier to find that way. Everyone probably has a slightly different layout but whatever works well for you. I would add that a comfy chair is very important. An older seamstress once told me...."You have to get your nest right." I have been sewing for over 53 years and STILL loving it. ENJOY!

• birdtalker