Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clergychick

New to Sewing Forum -- some questions

clergychick
14 years ago

Hi seamsters! I've been hanging out in the kitchen forum for a few months and decided to check out the other forums yesterday. I was thrilled to see there was a sewing forum because I love to sew and it's great to find a place for questions or to help others with their questions.

My first questions are about the workings of the forum. At the top it says "please DO NOT try to upload samples because they will...bring down the whole site." What does that mean? I see there are pictures in posts, so obviously that isn't it. So what are "samples"? (I sure wouldn't want to be responsible for bringing the site down unintentionally!)

Sewing I know -- computers: not so much. So I have some trouble understanding the directions about posting pictures. When I tried in the "test forum" to link to pics from my Facebook page, it worked for me -- but I wonder if it will work for others who are not "friended" by me, or on Facebook themselves. Do I have to have my pics with a webhost such as snapfish or something? Can I just put a jpeg into my post without putting it online?

I really appreciate your time and patience, and look forward to becoming a part of this community. --Amy

Comments (14)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

Hi clergychick:
    Welcome to the sewing forum.

To post pictures--First get a photobucket account--it's free. Follow their directions to UPLOAD your pictures to photobucket. In Photobucket--under the pictures you will see a bunch of URL's--places you can click to post pictures on different websites. Click on the one that says HTML. It will automaticly copy. Go to where you want to post the picture. Right click and choose paste. It will have a bunch of writing but will show up as a picture when you submit.

To post a clickable website. Post the link in the place below your post where it says URL and give it a name

• msmeow
    14 years ago