Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cool Costume Ideas?/ Newbie with Questions

Posted by moonwolf (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 3, 10 at 22:34

Hi everyone,

I'm not new to sewing, but I'm not very good at it. I've done very little of it since my first pillow project in 8th grade. I have a machine, which hardly gets used except when mom makes curtains or "garment repairs" (loose threads, hems on pants, etc.) I cannot sew a straight line on machines and I always make uneven stitches when I hand sew (try at least). Pillows is about all I'm good at making. I'm more of a crocheter (lot of teasing of that in high school

Anyways, I saw this cool YouTube video about someone making
a really neat costume (the one they modeled it after is a real piece of work!) They state it was time consuming (8 months!) and was costly over a long period. Are there any neat Halloween that you've made that you're really proud of? I'll provide the link to the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9iFw7uZj6w

Enjoy!

Brad AKA Moonwolf

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cool Costume Ideas?/ Newbie with Questions

No costume ideas, but I can help you sew a straight line. When you sew don't look at the needle. You have lines marked in fractions of an inch on the needle plate. Pick the one that you want the seam allowance to be, put the edge of the fabric on that line and sew your seam. You look at the edge of the fabric and that line and not at the needle. Keep the edge on that line and you will have a perfectly straight seam.

o

Thanks, oilpainter! So that's what I've been doing wrong! I'll have to remember that next time I sew something.

Brad AKA Moonwolf

o

You may also want to put a piece of colored tape on your machine at the seam allowance mark. It makes it alot easier to stay straight.

Good luck!

o

Hey Brad AKA Moonwolf,
I know you posted this a while back, but I'm new and just enjoying reading the past threads.