Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barb_roselover_in

bias tape question

barb_roselover_in
14 years ago

I was watching a sewing show a couple of weeks ago and saw that they have a machine to make bias tape. I don't do a good job of doing this by hand and I wondered if any of you have this (I imagine it is expensive) and if it is worth purchasing. I want to bind a vest with self-bias. Also, how to make the finishing so that it looks nice on both sides? I'm not too good at this either. - Barb

Comments (6)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

The link below shows how to make continuous bias tape. You can make it in any width you want. Just leave that much at the end and keep cutting. I don't know if they say this but draw on all your width lines with pencil on the wrong side so you get an even cut. Fold and press in half--right side out-- and then fold in 1/4 inch to the inside and press.

When sewing on bias tape, on the wrong side, open out the 1/4 inch fold and place the edge of the tape and the edge of the material together. Stitch in the fold of the tape. Then fold the tape back over to the right side and top stitch on the bias tape-- no worrying if you've caught the underside.

Here is a link that might be useful: How to make continuous bias tape

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

Revision:
    When you cut your strips don't forget to add 1/2 inch for the fold over--eg. if you want 1 inch bias you would cut your strips 2 1/2 inches.

The method of sewing is for 1/4 inch bias. For wider bias you would place the bias strip on the garment and see how far in on the garment you would have to place the seam.. eg.- for 1 inch bias put the fold on the inside with the 1/4 inch fold 1 inch in from the edge of the garment. The edge of the tape 3/4 inch from the garment edge and stitch in the ditch of the tape.

• pattiohio
    14 years ago

If this is regarding the Simplicity Bias/Cutter Machines