Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jammy22

Can I have a little advice please?

Jammy22
11 years ago

Hi. I'm new to this whole sewing area and I don't really want to seem like some unknowing noob that is just here to bother people but I could really use some advice on what kind of of sewing machine I should buy. This would be my first time buying one but not my first time using one. I like making outfits and work with my schools drama department so I would like something that could handle heavier fabrics and maybe even denim and could also have a few different stitch patterns. Also I kinda need one that isn't all that expensive. Sorry if I seem bothersome but there are just so many different machines and I don't know were to start.

Comments (11)

• chickadee__3a
    11 years ago

No need to wory about being bothersome.These forums are for sharing information and offering help.
    I think most people are reluctant to name a brand because we all get attached to whatever we have. Just don't buy a cheap machine and also don't get talked into something that has features you won't ever use. I think all the good brands have basic hard working machines. The rule of thumb seems to be "try before you buy" as you would do when buying a car. Visit the various dealers tell them what you want and a price range you can afford. Try sewing on the various machines. Collect the information and take it home and think about it. A good quality machine will last a lifetime.
    Also check out the internet sites of the various machines so you can be somewhat informed when you go shopping .

• jomuir
    11 years ago

I think the best value for the money is a used better-quality machine than a new one form a big-box retailer. $300 spent at a dealer on a used model will give better results long-term than a new one from walmart, etc. As chickadee said, try before you buy, whatever it is.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    11 years ago