Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
acnj_gw

Making a duvet cover from a coverlet

acnj
16 years ago

I'm searching for a duvet cover and would like something tone on tone like matelasse. So far am coming up short although I have found some coverlets I do like and within my budget. Has anyone ever made a duvet cover from a coverlet? I was thinking of buying one size down (i.e.) a queen size for a king bed and using the same size sheet on the back-side. This way, I could also buy ready-made shams to match. Most of the time, the duvet sits folded down at the bottom of our bed over a chenille bedspread. Any thoughts? I'm a beginner/novice sewer. Thanks!

Comments (4)

• corgicamp
    16 years ago

Thus far, I've only made duvet covers to go under a decorative spread I can pull on or off the bed. High thread-count sheets work the best because of their softness and light weight. You will have to be careful that the matelasse fabric you use is not too stiff or heavy.

I like the design of a duvet cover my sister brought me from Finland. It has an opening at the top of each side so that the person making the bed can reach in and pull the duvet up and into the cover when making the bed. I finish these openings last after creating french seams on the rest of the three closed sides.

On the last two covers I've made, I've cut the pieces out so that I can use the hemmed ends of the sheets for a ready-made finish on the open end that remains at the foot of the bed.

• noinwi
    16 years ago