Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
the_lotus99

Rotary cutter -- good or not?

lotus99
18 years ago

Hi All,

I should probably introduce myself a little. I haven't sewn much for about 20 years, but recently got a new sewing machine (Singer... should have checked here first... too late now). I have basic skills, made some clothes when I was a teenager, but haven't used a machine much since.

Anyway, I am mostly planning on doing home decoration stuff (drapes, comforter covers, cushions, etc.). I have never used a rotary cutter before, and I am wondering if it would be useful for this type of project. All I have ever used are shears and pinking shears. If I get one, any recommendations on a brand. I guess I will also need a cutting mat -- never used one of those either.

Any other essential things you can think of for home decor projects? I bought a couple of books for instructions (and measurements), and will be trying out some projects soon.

Comments (17)

• grammyp
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have a fiskar and don't know how I lived without one for so long. Be sure and have a good cutting mat. For decor you will want a large one. Also get at least a 24 inch ruler for cutting. If it tends to slide around just put some sandpaper dots on the back side to keep it steady.

beverly

• ellen76
    18 years ago

You don't say whether you are right handed or a lefty, but if the latter is the case, don't waste your money. The blades are beveled in such a way that the don't work for lefties. I hear you can take them off and turn them around, but I have never been able to figure out how to do that, and I wasted a lot of money on blades and cutting mats that don't work for me. Good luck in any case.

• glassquilt
    18 years ago