Return to the Scrapbooks Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ideas for starting up

Posted by MarieND (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 20, 05 at 23:42

My DD and I went to a scrap booking party today, and of course we have great ideas and want to buy lots of stuff. I already have some items, some from QVC, others from where ever I see something unusual.
My question is
Do you get a better quality from a person doing the party, a craft store, dollar store, etc.
/Also we will be sharing many items.
Where can you get the new acrylic stamps with the changeable things? We used them at the party and they are so easy. Also the double sided cleaner pad was great.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ideas for starting up

I am not a scrapbook expert, but I am learning slowly but surely...my best advice to anyone that wants to dive into scrapbooking is to look for alternative things that can be used to create the same effects that the very expensive products produce. Many items bought at a dollar store work just as well, and as long as they are acid free and lignin free, there will be no problem with your pages. The other bit of advice I have is to look at all things in terms of how they could be scrapbooked - for instance, wrapping paper comes in many wonderful colors and styles, and if you don't feel comfortable using a picture or design from a piece of wrapping paper directly on a scrapbook page, glue the wrapping paper die cut or whatever you want to use onto a piece of "official" scrapbook paper and mount that on your page. Alternately, you could scan or take a pic of the wrapping paper that you want and print it onto scrapbook friendly paper. The other thing with wrapping paper is often there is a co-ordinating gift tag and envelope that can be transformed into a beautiful tag or journal spot for your page.