Return to the Scrapbooks Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help me! I feel like an idiot!

Posted by
nicksmum
(nicksmum22@yahoo.com) on
Wed, Oct 31, 01 at 11:30

I am new to scrapbooking and became hooked after a friend took me to a crop at her favorite store. Anyway, at the crop, I purchased a 8 1/2 x 11 album, which was fine. Now, as I've taken some more classes, I've decided I wanted to work in a 12 x12 album. At the classes, I've competed pages on 12 x 12 cardstock, but when I purchased an album at the local craftstore, I can't seem to get these pages to fit quite right. Am I doing something wrong or are the pages not always exactly 12 x 12? Are some brands better than others? What the heck is the matter with me?! Help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help me! I feel like an idiot!

they're not always exactly 12 x 12...and there is a top and bottom...make sure you aren't getting them in sideways. If you do, they are a little too short and you have to trim a little off the sides in order for them to fit. I usually keep one sheet for a pattern and have the top marked...then I hold the sheet up to it to make sure I'm not getting it sideways...it's very frustrating to get the pictures all on a page and everything fastened down just to find out that it is all done sideways...been there, done that

o

I use the 8 1/2x11 and have had the same problem. I don't like to redo my masterpieces so usually I end up trimming a little bit of the edges of my paper.

o

Thank you for your responses. I was in another scrapbooking store today and asked the owner about it. Turns out she sells the brand I have and when we took the page out to measure it, it was not quite 12x12 (so actually I am an idiot, becuase it did not occur to me to measure!) anyway, I am going to try to take it back--i don't have my receipt but the price tag is still on it. hopefully, crafts n stuff will understand.

o