Return to the Scrapbooks Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which Would You Suggest??

Posted by homemadecountrylife (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 4, 06 at 11:55

Hello Everyone,
I'm new,here, to your group and the world of scrapbooking.
I have been scrapbooking for 2 months and I want to move up from simple cuttings and images to using a machine to "jazz" up my layouts.
I have been looking at the Cricut and Xyron Wishblade machines and I would like to know who uses what and why they either like or dislike them. Which has way too many unessessary things/components and who has the most exspensive accessories. And do you even use it/them as much as you thought?
Basically I need some more info, views and opinions to make a better informed decision before buying.
Thank you for any help!
~Amanda

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which Would You Suggest??

Sorry I can't help. Can't afford the kind of machines you are looking into. Good luck, though - sounds like fun!

o

Hi Barb :)
I can't afford them either, but I would like to know because I got some insider info that my JoAnn Fabric will have a 50% off coupon in the mail,soon. So I'd like to use it wisely since they rarely have a 50% off coupon. In the end it really does come down to the price of it all, too.
Maybe in the end, I really don't need one at all :)
Thank you for posting, this forum is quiet :)
~Amanda

o

I have the wishblade and absolutely love it. I only use it for cutting letters, but you can also cut die cut shapes as well. The Wishblade Advanced allows you the ability to use any true type font you have on your c
omputer (and you can download tons of free fonts online too). The Cricut, you have to buy font cartridges so you are limited to the fonts they offer.

The Cricut is portable, whereas the Wishblade has to hook to a computer so unless you have a laptop, it's not really all that portable.

The wishblade is more expensive, but I think being able to use any font on your computer makes it worthwhile.

o