Return to the Scrapbooks Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Making First Scrapbook

Posted by susy (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 5, 06 at 22:29

Hi-I am new to scrapbooking as this is going to be my first.

My youngest daughter who is 35 didn't get a baby book. I am gathering pics and will do a book starting when she was a baby adding photos, clippings and highlights through the years up to now. She is a middle school teacher, single, and likes no frills and bright primary colors. She collects lunchboxes, and loves all 50, 60 and 70's stuff. She is a dog and cat lover.

I have a album, glue, stickers, rub-ons, craft scissors, some paper but will need to get more.

Any suggestions would be appreciated on getting started. Thanks--

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Making First Scrapbook

Sounds like you are ready to go! I never use craft scissors, gave them all away years ago.I crop with a paper cutter only and sometimes use a corner rounder. I'm just not a fan of "design" edges or "shaped" pictures. Personal preference, of course, but it also takes so much more time that way! I like fewer and bigger pictures on a page, also easier and quicker to work with.

Most importantly, remember you are making this book out of love, it doesn't have to be extravagant, just personal, and from your heart!

What a wonderful gift your daughter will receive from you!

o

I think you've got the right equipment to start. Keep it simple. Scrap the pictures with journaling and maybe a quote or two here and there. The pages will be right from your heart and your daughter will love it.
Sue

o

I did not want this post to just have one or two messages because I really think what you are doing is wonderful and we should offer whatever help we can. Your daughter is very lucky to have you do this for her.