Return to the Scrapbooks Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What trimmer do you prefer???

Posted by pinkcarnation (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 21, 07 at 19:26

I am new to scrapbooking and am beginning to collect supplies. I have been researching paper trimmers and I am totally lost! I would like to know what you recommend, brand, style, etc. What is the easiest to use, and it must be inexpensive. I don't want to invest a lot of money into this until I try it for awhile. Has anyone used the Fiskars ones which offer replacement blades in assorted shapes?? I don't want this type necessarily, am just wondering. Also, is there a standard number of pages to use per album, or do you add as many as you want? TIA
Jackie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What trimmer do you prefer???

I have a 12 inch Fiskars trimmer with the replacement blades. I like it for its portability and the option of where I put the blade down (you can make inside cuts).

For straight up cutting, I'd rather use a traditional paper cutter like you find at office supply stores. I think it is easier to measure with, but they weigh a whole bunch and take up a lot of room.

I think Fiskars has just changed their trimmers - there seems to be a purple one and an orange one on the market now. I'd double check to make sure they were still manufacturing the replacement blades you would need before you pick a color.

But I can't say I road-tested a bunch of other models before choosing the Fiskars. It was just the best deal on the day I bought it.

(oh, and as for pages - there is no rule or standard. Use however many you want until the album seems "done" or the hinge won't hold any more)

Have fun!
Sarah

Here is a link that might be useful: craftfetish blog

o