Return to the Scrapbooks Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What are diecuts?

Posted by sapphires (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 9, 04 at 10:52

Okay, don't laugh now, I am new to scrapbooking. I have never made one and have been elected to make one for someones 50th birthday. Although I am honored I am very nervous about this. What are diecuts? Have no idea where to start. Someone else is compiling the pics, but then it's up to me. I was elected because they say I am creative. Yes, it's a compliment yet I feel pressure on me to make it perfect. I need to get this done by 3rd week of April. Can it be done? Any advice, tips are welcome. Should I get the 8 1/2 x 11 or go larger. Should every page be in a plastic cover? What do you do with the outside cover of the book? Oh please help..I am on my knees. Thanks.
Sapphires

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What are diecuts?

GO to ebay and do a search on scrapbook die cuts. There are a ton of varieties of die cuts. They are cut outs of paper in various shapes. A traditional die cut is made from a solid color paper, not printed. As scrapbooking has evolved over the years, die cuts are now printed in various patterns, designs, themes, etc. The possibilities are endless.

As far as what size...I prefer a 12x12 album, although you may want to go with 8.5x11 depending on how many pics you have. I personally think 12x12 is easier to work with though; you can get more on a page.

Every page should be in a plastic cover. As far as the outside cover of the album is concerned, I leave mine alone. You can buy solid color albums or themed albums. I never decorate the outside of my albums.

As far as time is concerned, having an album done by the 3rd week of April is do-able, although, since you're new to scrapbooking and really dont know where to start, you may need to get going on it now. It could take you some time to get those creative juices flowing.