Return to the School Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Red Ribbon Week - Door?

Posted by
Kathi
(ksadler@seark.com) on
Fri, Oct 5, 01 at 20:45

Hi, I am a teacher intern at a local college. My job is to decorate our door for red ribbon (Drug Free) week. Does anyone have any good suggestions for me to use. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank You,
Kathi

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Red Ribbon Week - Door?

Cover the door with paper and tie a big red ribbon on it or paint one on the paper. Have the kids make a hand print of their hand and sign their names. Then write a slogan on the paper --"We Say No to Drugs!-- We pledge to a drug free life. Or something like that. Drug free and proud.

o

I don't have any ideas about the door, but I would like to ask you to try to differentiate between alcohol use and alcohol abuse.

Last year my son (then 6) came home from school and wanted me to spill out all the beer (there were about 5 bottles) in the refrigerator because "alcohol is a drug". It is amusing now, but not so amusing to try to explain that it really is ok for grownups to have a beer every now and then!!

Mommabear

o

I loathe this whole, "drug-free" campaign, DARE is a joke!

No one bothers to make any sort of distinction between ANY of the drugs readily available to those who would seek them out.

How many of YOU have smoked grass ("done" worse? how many will, "step up to the plate" and admit it?)? I've smoked a lot of grass. I've always held a job, paid my taxes, and frankly, I KNOW the whole, "anti-drug" crusade of the past 20 years has done nothing but fill prisons and increase our tax burdens.