Return to the School Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
novel study

Posted by darkhybrid (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 3, 07 at 23:15

is harry potter a good novel for novel study?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: novel study

A good question, indeed. In fact, there are so many mixed reviews regarding the books regarding the illusionary world of wizards and witches and their magic.

Though, overall, it has been among the most popular books, but to have it for studies is something else? I mean like Archie comics and digest are famous but are not exactly study material.

We need more views.

o

I agree that for a novel study you would hope that your choice of books would embody enough of the "right stuff" to make it worthwhile. When you consider what has been in vogue, or not, over the past 4-5 decades, it makes it even more challenging to be objective. As a newly retired teacher I would have no issues with using a Harry Potter book, or at least a portion of, because they certainly possess an enormous quantity of stylistic elements. As far as objections to wizardry, witchcraft, magic, etc. have we forgotten the original works of the Brothers Grimm? They certainly served my generation well! What do others think??

o

Sincere thanks barneyrubble for your views, I agree fully. Though, there is a question, the fairy tales stories of Brothers Grimm were simple and clean. I mean that they did not have gory details of the killings or violence (children have told me the story portions).

An idea can be obtained by comparing the cartoons of "Power Rangers" and "Pokeman" with "Perman" or "Ninja Hajori". Both depict good over evil, but the way of depiction.

What do you say?

o

Sincere thanks barneyrubble for your views, I agree fully. Though, there is a question, the fairy tales stories of Brothers Grimm were simple and clean. I mean that they did not have gory details of the killings or violence (children have told me the story portions).