Return to the School Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
PTO problem?

Posted by missy1313 (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 18, 06 at 8:28

Hi, I am the President of my sons schools PTO and founder. We have had 3 very successful years with maybe 1% involvement from our Teachers. We give them gifts,lunches,etc. Does anyone have any ideas on how to get my teachers involved with PTO? We do alot of fun things with our students and we have a Fun Family Night every month but I have yet to see any of our teachers show up.
HELP!!!!!!!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: PTO problem?

At my school (I'm a teacher), we have pretty good teacher participation. I rarely attend the family fun nights, because after a long week, I just want to kick back with my own family and vege, not see more of whom I've seen all week. Our administration strongly encourages PTA membership, and we usually have close to 100% membership. Our PTA has been very generous with gifts, grants, lunches, etc., which we all appreciate very much. Our PTA gives $50 per teacher for misc. classroom supplies and books, as well as grade level and department minigrants of $250-$500. In order to be eligible for these, a teacher must belong to the PTA. I'd get with your administrator and ask how they can help. If we don't join PTA, an administrator puts another membership envelope in our mailboxes with a nice note detailing why we should join. Coming from administration and not parents, this seems to cut down on the complaints, or at least the complaints that would be directed at you. The faculty runs a booth at the school carnival (bake sale) and we have no trouble staffing it each year. Faculty also gives door prizes and raffle items for the carnival. I think we, parents, staff and kids work well together. I'd rely on your principal for suggestions.

o