Return to the School Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is it ok for kids to wear just socks in class??

Posted by
John
(John_001124@hotmail.com) on
Fri, Jul 20, 01 at 21:23

Is it ok if i let the kids take off their shoes in class as long as they have socks on?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is it ok for kids to wear just socks in class??

It is up to the teacher and principal. Probably not a good idea.

o

NO. I guess it depends on the age of the child and grade. I teach sixth grade and that is a big DO NOT DO. If I let one student take a shoe off then the rest of the room will follow. Even if we are watching a film I want those students in a chair and paying attention. As a history teacher I show films in my room that I find stimulating. But to a 12 year old its like torture. The shoes come off, the head goes down, and the snoring begins. As a teacher I have lots of pet peeves, but that is supreme. Kids today complain about work like never before. You can give them a group activity, a worksheet, a book assignment, or a project and the end result is always pessimism. Mention using a tv/vcr and they go crazy. They love to watch films for obvious reasons. However, some students see it as leisure time when they do not have to learn. Wrong. I have been through all the phases with this. I have let them sit on the floor, lay down, take shoes off, eat, etc. Yet, it always happens. It happens much less when they are in a chair and not given the opportunity to relax. My rambling has a point. If you give a student the opportunity to make school feel like home, they will take advantage of the situation. Not all, but most. School is not home and should never be construed as homelike. That is what is wrong with kids today. So often they feel that they can get away with everything because mommy and daddy will protect them. It is creating a generation of kids who try and fail once and then whine until someone protects them. Try it again and again and again and ........ Never stop trying t