Return to the School Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Take me out to the ballgame

Posted by Arkansasgardenboy (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 31, 02 at 13:27

Seems I have always loved baseball. It seemed I had rather listen to a game as play it when I was a kid. We use to listen to the games in the l950's on a battery radio. I was real young at the time. We got electricity out to our home just before I started school. So I have seen alot of changes in my lifetime.
The game of baseball is still the same in many ways. I have seen many players come and go. Many of the ones we use to listen to and watch on TV have passed away. (We did finally get a TV before I graduated high school.) Ted Williams and Darryl Kyle were great players. One of the old generation and one of the new generation. I was fortunate to enjoy both players and times.
So what is great about baseball is it lives on.. in memory of great times and great players and the game goes on.. not only on the field, as well, off the field in our hearts and minds..
It is good to go to the game to be reminded of the past, present, and future of baseball.
I just love this game... How about you?
Thanks for the memories....and for the opportunities....

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.ndll.org/Ballgame.html

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Take me out to the ballgame

Cool link. What wonderful childhood memories that brings back!
I grew up in the 1970s in Ohio and a fan of the Cincinnati Reds... Big Red Machine... Pete Rose and Johnny Bench... We used to go to Riverfront Stadium, my brother and I, our parents, grandparents and even, occassionally, great-grandparents. My brother was the little leaguer, and a die hard Johnny Bench fan, his boyhood hero. He was just so sure that if he took his glove to every game, one of those times Johnny Bench himself was going to ask him to play!

So, yup, for me,too, childhood, family, summer and baseball... they all go together!

o
RE: Take me out to the ballgame