Return to the School Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What qualities are necessary for academic success in high school

Posted by
abc12308081
(Htl88@cs.com) on
Tue, Jan 15, 02 at 17:44

What qualities are necessary for academic success in high school and why?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What qualities are necessary for academic success in high sch

The ability to sit in a chair for five hours each day while being told what to do, and when to do it. Then come home and do an hour of homework to practice sitting in a chair for an hour doing what you were told to do. Come back the next day and prove that you can memorize everthing that happened the day before. Think about it...
Sorry, not being mean, just silly, and to top it off I am a public school teacher.

o

Must be organized! With so many teachers and differing assignments, a student must learn to plan their work. This is why journals have become so common in high school. A student needs to learn how to look ahead and know what is due, when it is due, and plan accordingly.

o

Goals. If you don't have a plan, don't have at least a vague idea of where you'd like to be going in life, high school is a lot of meaningless chatter. However, if you realize that no successful person starts out on top, that there are steps you must take to get where you eventually want to be, then you'll have the drive, dedication and a reason to succeed.

Ah, but to clarify things--those goals don't have to be written in stone. They can be re-evaluated at anytime and modified as you develop and become more clear as to what you really do want out of life.

o

I am a highschool student in tenth grade. You need to be able to concentrate, work hard, set goals, and make sure that you have free time. I got to school from 7:45am-3pm. Most nights I have around 3 hours of homework. Its insane

o