Return to the School Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Son is misbehaving at kinder, Father not home.

Posted by fishinfamilyo (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 28, 08 at 16:48

I just off the phone with my wife and my son just got a behavirol referral to the office, for misbehaving. I am not at home with them due to be being in the navy. My wife has already talked to the teacher and counsler, and they both said that he is a bright boy, and is very polite. For some reason he is not listening in the classroom and recently has been misbehaving in the bathroom (walking around with his pants down). My wife has taken him to see a doctor and they found nothing wrong with him. Since he is in a dual language classroom, a family member said he might get bored. I think it has alot to do with me not being home, can someone please help. What can we do?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Son is misbehaving at kinder, Father not home.

I'm a teacher. If this is the first report in the school year, I would look at this very simply. This is not as unusual as you think, even with fathers at home. Many, many kindergartners have to learn how to behave in school. I would interpret this as just a silly boy thing, maybe looking for some attention from his buddies. When parents are on the same page as the teacher/principal, it makes it much, much easier for kids. So I would just make it clear to your son that this is not acceptable at school. Make sure he understands what the rules in the classroom are. Have him tell them to you. (Typically, they will be things like, Raise your hand to talk, no talking in the halls, no touching other people's property, etc.) Once you are sure he understands, make sure he understands your expectations, as well as the consequences of misbehavior. With little kids it really doesn't take a big, horrible consequence so much as 100% consistency. He has to know that if he goofs around at school, he will pay a consequence at home. And then don't harp on it unless he gets in trouble again