Return to the Graphics & Scanning Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What Is The Best Computer For Graphics?

Posted by kimba00 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 18, 06 at 18:10

I'm a self employed graphic artist that has exclusively used wintel for over 10 years. I use mostly Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop. Some of my graphics friends over the years have told me that the industry mostly uses macs because they are better designed for the type of work I do.

I'm in the market for a new workhorse. I'm intrigued by the macs reputation for user friendliness, resistance to most virus/worms and graphic performance. I'm sick of wintel crankiness, freezing screens, crashes etc,

I'm open for feedback. Any suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What Is The Best Computer For Graphics?

I teach computer graphics at a large college where I'm responsible for upkeep of the hardware. I have about 120 computers in about 7 different labs -- about 90 MACs and about 30 Wintel sytems.

Windows is a miserable piece of junk. It's nearly as bad as Apple's old MAC OS used to be. The new MAC OS 10.4.x.x.x.x.x is based on a UNIX (good operating system) kernel and is much better than the old MAC OS and potentially better than Windows. At this point I'd probably give the edge to the MAC OS however Apple is trying very hard to ruin it.

Things to consider:

MAC OS is easier to use -- that's a myth. You can make a MAC as easy to use as a Windows computer by purchasing a two button mouse that comes with MAC drivers. Even still, if you really know what you're doing and want to use a computer "your way" then the MAC is still harder to use. Both Apple and Microsoft have adopted the same philosophy: "The user is ignorant and we know what they need." Apple has moved further along with this than Microsoft. If you're willing to use the MAC the way Apple knows you should then you'll get along pretty well.