Return to the Money Saving Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
fabric softener

Posted by Beatle (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 7, 02 at 10:41

I'm new to this particular forum, I usualy post in house plants.
My mother, who grew up during the depression, taught me frugality. My newest frugal thing is dryer sheets, if you use them do you know they can be cut into at least 1/4s and give you the same softening effect? An even more frugal act would be to buy some inexpensive liquid softener, moisten a washrag with it and toss it in the dryer.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: fabric softener

Somewhere along the line, another poster suggested dropping the fabric softener in favor of vinegar in the rinse. I liked the idea, since we're on a septic system, and fabric softener gunks up the treatment field. I've eliminated fabric softener altogether. The vinegar seems to work just as well at lower cost, and triggers no allergies. If we want fragrance, we wear it on our skin instead.

It's funny how we accept the need for all kinds of specialized products, and sometimes use them to excess. I'm continually amazed at the simple suggestions that people come up with that would never had occurred to me in a million years!

o

Hi, I love the idea about the vinegar and will try it. How much do you use? Currently, I buy my softner sheets at our local Dollar Tree. Love that place. Monica in TX

o

I put a little vinegar in a downey ball and put it in the washer with the load. I like the extra "kick" it gives to truly rinse the soap out of the clothes. (But I may not need it now, as I only use 1/8th tsp of detergent anymore, remember that thread?)

The vinegar doesn't stop static on our bad static days so I still use a fabric sheet (cut in 4ths, of course!) in dryer loads when the weather is especially dry.

o