Return to the Money Saving Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Funerals Depot--Please Share Your Experience

Posted by scarab4life (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 1, 09 at 22:35

I'm trying to negotiate a pre-needs funeral agreement on behalf of my elderly mother who lives in Ohio. I learned of a company (from this website) called Funerals Depot that provides caskets at a lower price, but the funeral home seems to be trying to discourage me from using the company. I realize the funeral home wants to sell me a more costly casket. If you've dealt with Funeralsdepot.com, would you please share your experience. Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Funerals Depot--Please Share Your Experience

You don't have to buy a casket from the funeral home. I understand there's a lot of online places that are much cheaper, even including the shipping. You could use them as a negotiation tool with the funeral home too. They try to cash in on time pressures, grieving and the like.

o

I have had no experience with Funeral Depot - sorry.

Do you know whether your mother has negative feelings about the idea of cremation, or do you or others in your family whom your Mom might be reluctant to cause to be unhappy?

The urn is much less expensive that a coffin.

Plus the area that is needed for commital in a cemetery is much smaller.

Are you quite certain that your family will need a locastion in a cemetery in your area for quite a number of years, and how many spaces to anticipate needing? The folks at a local cemetery say that each traditional plot will accomodate one coffin and two urns, buried above the coffin.

In our area, we are told that if one decides that one does not need some plots any more, they have only one potential buyer, the cemetery itself, and there is only one price available, that which the current owner had paid in the first place - long ago, before i nflation..