Return to the Money Saving Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Convection/microwave combo-grainlady?

Posted by miscindy (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 7, 10 at 21:30

I'm close to moving into my new house and will have a convection microwave combo. It seems like it'll use a lot less electricity than the regular range oven for smaller items, thus saving money. I don't actually know anyone who has one though. If you do, please tell me how well it works for different things and what you use it for. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Convection/microwave combo-grainlady?

I've been using my Sharp Convection/Microwave for 7-8 years now. We bought it for a new townhouse we moved into, and 4 years later we bought a new home. We removed the new microwave in the new home and put it in the townhouse and took our Sharp with us. That's how much I loved my Sharp.

As with all new appliance, there is a learning curve, but I quickly found I used the Sharp for a large percentage of my baking.

This is what I shared recently on the Cooking Forum:

I have an over the range Sharp Convection/Microwave Oven.

I can bake a loaf of bread in it in 20-minutes, 2 loaves in 25-minutes, and NO preheating, so there is a considerable amount of energy savings there if all you consider is the time used. Since it's a much smaller appliance, you are heating less air space, so there is a considerable savings there.

In the Sharp, most baked goods will bake in at least 25% less time, and some even less time than that, so another savings. I start checking for doneness when half the traditional baking time has passed.

It's a major improvement over a toaster oven OR a microwave because you can microwave, bake, and broil in it in a much larger scale. It will hold a 12-cup muffin pan, 13x9 cake pan, or a tube pan.