SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dougy2040

geneolgy advise

dougy2040
14 years ago

Anyone on Gardenweb ever signed up for the Ancestry.com online sources? Wondering if you are satisfied with what they offer? Thank you.

Comments (10)

• sushipup1
    14 years ago

Try posting at The Kitchen Table Forum. There are several experienced genealogists there.

Here is a link that might be useful: Kitchen Table

• grainlady_ks
    14 years ago

I was a member of Ancestry.com for several years and it turned out to be a good deal for me thanks to someone who's line picked up where my research stopped. I've been doing genealogical research since the 1980's and Ancestry.com is just one of the many sources I've used over the years. It all depends on people contributing their research and the public records that are available for research you are doing.

I've been a board member and librarian of a local genealogical society and library. You'll never be able to find on-line all the things offered in these small genealogical libraries when it comes to local resources. But the on-line sources can lead you to the local resources. WIN-WIN! Happy researching. All it takes is time and money (LOL)!

-Grainlady

• scarlett2001
    14 years ago

Just as a helping suggestion: G-e-n-e-o-l-o-g-y. (And a-d-v-i-c-e.)

• dougy2040
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thanks for your suggestions, and scalet 2001's not so subtle suggestion, yes, I have tried lots of research already, just hit lots of roadblocks. That is why I asked the question.... I wanted to know if anyone has subscribed to the service of Ancestry.com and been less than pleased.

• landmarker
    14 years ago

I can get to it in my public library. You should check. Ancestry is awesome. It has all US census searchable by name. In addition many more things, such as draft cards for WW1 and WW2.

• landmarker
    14 years ago

it's actually spelled genealogy. G-e-n-e-a-l-o-g-y

• amandasgramma
    14 years ago