Return to the Money Saving Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Vacuum sealing foods

Posted by dreamgoddess (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 22, 13 at 19:29

I'm debating purchasing a vacuum sealer for foods to help with saving on groceries. I was looking at a Foodsaver, but the reviews on all of the models are so varied. Some say they are wonderful, other reviews say they are junk.

Does anyone have a Foodsaver? If so, do you like it? Or can anyone recommend a vacuum sealer that is good, but won't break the bank?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Vacuum sealing foods

Also check over at the Cooking Forum. Lots of responses over there.

o

Thank you sushipup! I'll head over there.

o

I'm on my 3rd FoodSaver (the next one is safe in the basement - bought at a low-low price at Tuesday Morning) and I've been using them since 1986. They were great when we had 2 kids (and all their friends) still at home, and even better now that there are only 2 of us. The FoodSaver is a way of life in our home.

I do home food storage so a lot of the food I store is vacuum-sealed in bags as well as canning jars (using the FoodSaver Jar Sealer and the canning lid). Removing the oxygen extends the shelf-life and is the best way to prevent pantry pests. If there are any pantry pest or their eggs in your dry goods, they will die from lack of oxygen. I store large amounts of dry grains/seeds/beans and a large assortment of other dry goods. I also use freeze-dried foods, and when I open a #10 can I transfer the food to canning jars, in user-friendly amounts, and vacuum-seal it shut to extend the shelf-life.