SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cicadidae

ideas requested

cicadidae
14 years ago

Hello,

I am very new to frugality. My idea of happiness was spending most of what I had left after bills on ebay or in hardware stores!.

We are now pulling our small family (two adults, one dog, and three cats) out of a small debt problem and learning that frugality actually feels good. Appreciating what I have is something really nice and rather new. We are learning this frugality thing slowly and taking it by baby steps. Probably most of you would be shocked at what we still do wrong but we are getting it!

The following are areas in which I think I would like to be more frugal. If any of you have suggestions I would be happy to read them all.

Dishwasher soap: Can you make it yourself without having a bubblerink on your floor after turning the machine on?

Catfood: one of our cats has FUS. He needs CD food. Is there any way of getting cheaper than at our vets? It is really expensive and what HE eats, the others also eat so it is one pricey kitty.

Someone somewhere used to make fire logs out of recycled paper. I tried to do it and the thing was impossible to catch on fire.

What about dogfood? Please don't think of me as a jerk. I make sure my dog eats the right thing with as little fillers as possible. But he is BIG (mostly pyrenees) and eats more than I do. Any suggestions of places where good dog food can be purchased less expensively?

I will think of more things but have to get to work.

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• sushipup1
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Dog food---- check out the Costco house brand chicken and brown rice (not the lamb and rice) food. Lots of people are feeding that right now.