Return to the Retirement Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Any retired teachers out there??? Any from California???

Posted by Sooz (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 13, 02 at 18:25

Just wondering what words of wisdom you might have for me. I'm hoping to retire within the next 8 - 10 years, and have my STRS as income. Any suggestions on what investments I can start funding now?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Any retired teachers out there??? Any from California???

I'm a retired teacher but not from CA. My advice would be to put as much as allowed in a tax-sheltered annuity and a Roth IRA.

o

Sooz:

I'm not retired, not a teacher, and not from CA, but just couldn't resist making my 'soapbox' statement. I do payroll at the local school. I preach every chance I get on starting tax-sheltered annuity plans as early in their careers as they possibly can. Usually counsel to begin within 5 to 10 yrs. When a new annuity company was trying to get our employees to join them, I was asked by the union to come to a meeting about it. Most of the teachers that showed up were within 5 yrs of retirement. So many made statements to the effect that they wished they'd known yrs ago, etc. First I let them know that it still wasn't too late, just not as ideal as an earlier start. But the one thing I stressed was to mentor their younger counterparts. Within the next two months, our employee participation in annuity plans increased by about 20% and half of that percentage were in the 25 to 30 year old age group.

o

Hi, qshopper and gadgets,

Guess I forgot to say that I DO fund my Roth IRA faithfully, for the full amount, annually.

Thankfully, someone wiser than I set me up with a TSA person years ago. Of course, after a while, that person's quote of "they don't put teachers in jail" made me wonder just what kinds of monkey business he was doing with my money, so I got a new TSA person.