Return to the Retirement Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I got to retire

Posted by Ilene29 (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 18, 02 at 10:58

This is only my second day since i have retire.
I worked at the univesty of mo. and they had a buget cut here and layed off some people and they did a early retirment and i got to retire with full benifits. I had been working for the universty for 33 years.and if you add your age and how long you have been there you can retire with full benifits. and mine was enough. And what is good about it is that my husband is on disabuilt and we went to get a
rv and go plces now and i think that we can do what we want to do we don't have any kids.We are going on a vacation next week and we are going to go to Minnesota and Wisconson.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I got to retire

Congratulations on your Retirement! Sounds like you will be keeping yourself busy traveling-that's wonderful. KathyO

o

Enjoy your retirement! We recently bought a small RV and will be taking our first trip (to Calif.) in it soon. I'm claustrophobic and I'm not sure that I will feel comfortable sleeping in it, but I'll give it a try. I hope you and your husband have a wonderful trip to Minnesota and Wisconsin. Bettye/AZ

o

hi Mamatoad How was the trip tp california? We travel about four months during the winter mostly between Minnesota and Texas.We have a travel trailor (our fourth) and it is 31 foot long with a double slide so we have plenty of room now.we started out with a 19foot and a tent with 7 kids so now it is just the two of us we are fine with the trailor. Hope you enjoyed the trip and living in the trailor .

o

Illene, I'd suggest you sit down and do a good study of your retirement income and how you're going to spend it. Do you really want to blow it all on one quick trip across the country?

Sorry, but it's pretty obvious from your message that you weren't a professor with full tenure/benefits.