Return to the Retirement Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Stock Trading with Scotttrade

Posted by Lulie___Wayne (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 23, 03 at 19:55

I just opened an account online with Scottrade. Does anyone else deal with them or have past experience with them? It seems to me the quickest, most convenient and cheapest way to trade. Also, I have heard that Ameritrade is also a good one, although their commission is a little higher.
Lulie Cosby

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Stock Trading with Scotttrade

Sorry I have no experience with them....I wonder if one of the other forums might get you an answer. There are so many good ones here at THS.

o

I have to tell my good news. I bought stock the other day in a small company and made $2,400 in two days for doing NOTHING. I know that playing the stock market is risky, but if you have the time like most of us retired folks, it might be something fun as well as profitable for some of you to look into. I sold some of the stock,got my original money out and keep my profit in, to make more money for me. I kinda like not working and making money while sitting home. :))))

Lu

o

Careful, Lu ...

...sometimes stocks go up.

Sometimes they go along for quite a long term at about the same level of value.

But ...

... sometimes they go down.

As many have out to their chagrin during the past three years.

One of the big telecom- and internet-based stocks, that many people had made quite a lot of money on over a number of years ...

went from $120. plus per share ....

... to about 69 cents per share.

Now has recovered a little ... to about $4.00 per share.

Go to Yahoo, excite or one of a number of other systems offering a variety of information.

Ask them for "financial" information.

You can enter the name of your stock, then you'll find out the symbol that is used when it is being bought and sold on the market.

You can enter that symbol in a certain place.